The Podmaine monastery, also known as Podostrog, is on the outskirts of the city of Budva, but it still within walking distance from any area.

The name "Podmaine" stems from the neighbouring village of Mine, and the name "Podstrog" comes from the Ostrog mountain in whose foothills the monastery is situated. The first written records of the monastery date back to 1630 but historians believe it was built much earlier. In 1869, Podmaine was destroyed and completely burned down during the Krivošije uprising. Following that, the monastery was closed for more than a hundred years. Restoration works only began in 1995 but they are now fully completed.