Vrmac is a fortress between Tivat and Kotor sitting on top of a mountain bearing the same name.

In the vicinity of Goražda, on Mount Vrmac, there is another peculiar fortress also built by Austro-Hungary in 1897 and bearing the same name as the mountain. The fortress encircled with a beautiful grove sits on top of the mountain with a picturesque view of the Bay of Kotor and the mountains.

The fortress was built between 1894 and 1897 and was owned by the Austro-Hungarian Empire. During World War II, the fortress was severely damaged by the Montenegrin troops, but it was later restored. After the fall of Austro-Hungary, the fortress passed into the ownership of the Yugoslav Army.

This fortress is also interesting because in one of its halls there are portraits of saints painted on the walls. Presumably, there was a monk who lived in the fortress and painted these murals. 

Today, Vrmac Fortress is abandoned, but is in a fairly good state like some other Austro-Hungarian fortification. However, visitors are advised to be cautions, because there is no floor in some of the halls.