The fortress of old Bar (Tvrđava Stari Bar) is located in the mountains, a couple kilometers away from the new Bar and the coast.

Most of the the old town's structures were heavily damaged during the war of 1876-1878 and the 1979 earthquake. In the 1980s work began on restoring the old town, which continues to this day.

The following buildings inside the fortress are fully or partially restored: the customs building, gunpowder stocks, citadel and aquaduct, inner gates, St. Joseph's church, palace, St. Venera's church, clock tower, St. Hilarion's church, the bishop's palace, Turkish bath and St. Catherine's palace (XIV century). You could also see the ruins of the ancient St. George's cathedral, built in the late-XII century in place of an even older church (from VI-X centuries).

There are two mosques in the immediate vicinity of the fortress, along the northern wall: the Škanjevića džamija and the Omerbašića džamija.

The fortress is open the whole year, admission is 2 Euro for adults, 1 Euro for children.